Congress expels 48 members for 6 years for contesting Delhi MCD polls as rebels

The Congress has expelled 48 members from the party following its dismal performance in the MCD elections. The members were shown the door for six years after they had contested against Congress’ candidates in the elections for the three Municipal Corporations of Delhi, according to Indian Express report. The decision was taken during a meeting of the disciplinary committee of the Delhi Pradesh Congress. Chairman of disciplinary committee Narendra Nath and the committee unanimously decided that those who fought against the official candidates during the MCD elections 2017 as rebel candidates should be removed from the primary membership, IE report says. Congress managed to win only 31 of the 272 wards in South, North and East Delhi Municipal Corporations.

It has been learned that those who have been expelled from the party include four former councillors, as per PTI report. Those expelled by Congress include Youth Congress member Sanjay Rathee, former councillor Satender Singh Rana, Ramesh Pandit and Dharmender Singh, among others. The committee decision came after it received complaints from the official Congress candidates regarding alleged anti-party activities of the rebel candidates. The committee, including Mahmood Zia, Surender Kumar and Abha Choudhary, also took a decision to expel spouses and family members of women who stood against official candidates during the polls.

There was discontent in a section of party over ticket distribution for MCD polls this year under the leadership of Ajay Maken whose role was questioned by senior leaders including former Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and ex ministers AK Walia and Arvinder Singh Lovely, according to PTI report. Singh quit Congress and joined BJP days before MCD elections on April 23. The BJP registered an impressive victory by winning 181 wards, while first timer Aam Admi Party won only 41 wards in the polls.

Notably, The BJP had also expelled 21 of its workers, including former councillors, in the run-up to the poll after the leadership passed a diktat refusing tickets to any sitting Councillor.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here