MCD By-Election Results 2017: AAP wins Maujpur seat, Congress bags Sarai Pipal Thala

The by-election result of two wards Maujpur and Sarai Pipal Thala of Municipal Corporation Delhi have been declared on Tuesday morning. Aam Aadmi Party won the Maujpur seat while Congress won the Sarai Pipal Thala seat in MCD by-elections. Polling in Maujpur and Sarai Pipal Thala wards was held on May 14 and May 21 respectively. Municipal elections to the two wards of the MCD were postponed due to the death of two candidates.

In Maujpur, AAP candidate Reshma Nadeem defeated Congress’s Rekha Sharma by margin of 699 votes. The ward was a stronghold of BJP’s Sanjay Jain former leader of House in East Delhi Municipal Corporation, who had represented the Maujpur ward for two consecutive terms.

In Sarai Pipal Thala ward, Congress Candidate Mukesh Goel won the election with 10,946 votes. Goel has earlier represented Dhirpur ward for two terms. Notably, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) that won 181 of the 270 wards to which polls were held on Sunday, April 23, came at third place in both Maujpur and Sarai Pipal Thala wards. BJP candidate lost deposit on Maujpur seat.

Vijender Sharma, a resident of Sarai Pipal Thala said, “The area has traditionally backed Congress and despite the Modi wave in other areas, people here showed faith in Goel. There has not been spectacular developmental works here but Goel has done well. He also had complete backing of the people from minority communities who voted for him in large numbers.”

On their win in by-election, Congress Delhi in charge PC Rao said, “What is more pleasing is that in both the wards together, the Congress candidates bagged 19, 621 votes which is 39 per cent of the total votes polled. The BJP got only 13, 966 votes (27 %) while the AAP had slipped to mere 24% as it secured total 12, 277.” Several leaders claimed that infighting among the BJP leaders is the reason behind the Party’s poor performance in MCD by-election.

Although BJP managed to win Delhi MCD election 2017, but they failed to win Muslim dominated areas and had won only one out of six seats.  BJP candidate Ravinder Kumar won Chandni Chowk ward but the party lost in all other six wards—Delhi Gate, Daryaganj, Ballimaran, Jama Masjid, Ajmeri Gate and Bazar Sitaram.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here