By-polls in Maujpur ward of East Delhi Municipal Corporation will be held on May 14

The polling for municipal by-polls in Maujipur ward will be held on Sunday by state election commission. The election was put on hold due to sad demise of Samajwadi Party candidate Naseema a few days before the polling on April 23.

Samajwadi Party has fielded Naseema’s daughter Shaheen in Maujipur. The other candidates contesting in Maujpur are Rekha Sharma of Congress, Suman Sharma of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Reshma of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). The ward is currently held by BJP candidate Sanjay Jain who won the municipal election in 2012 with 12,652 votes.

The election was also put on hold in Sarai Pipal Thala ward following death of Samajwadi Party candidate Dinesh Singh. SP has fielded Dinesh Singh’s son Himanshu in this ward.

In Delhi MCD 2017 election, BJP has won convincingly in all the three municipal bodies winning total 181 seats. AAP has contested the municipal election in Delhi for the first time and able to win at 48 wards while Congress managed to win only 30 seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here